h1

Freedom…let’s live in it!

June 11, 2010

Some days I make myself giggle…out loud. And some days I almost bust my buttons with delight that I accomplished so much. But there are those days…I’m so over me.

Here I am at my age, think antique, and I’m still not who I wanted to be when I grew up. I had hoped I’d be more, uh, well, sophisticated. More settled. More simple. Instead I remain unlearned in most of the arts. I can and do get rattled over small frustrations. And I am a complicated wad of femininity…sometimes even puzzling myself.

I take comfort in that God is ongoing in His efforts concerning us. He is not surprised by our human frailty. He understands us even when we don’t. And best of all He knows we won’t have it all together until we step into His dear purifying presence.

Our longing to be more is a good thing as long as we use it as motivation to move forward and not a whip to beat our selves up. Jesus gave His life for our freedom…let’s live in it!

11 comments

  1. Thank you for putting into words those things that I often feel as well.

    You have the ability to put things into such descriptive sentences. I often feel like I am sitting beside you and having a conversation with you.


  2. Oh I so enjoy visiting you. I always feel like we are on the porch having a cup of tea and some wicked dark chocolate laughing our heads off. You make my heart smile cause your words are just what I need to hear. Thank you!


  3. How I love reading your posts!!!! Not exactly like sitting at Women of Faith and learning from you. But second best reading your writings!

    Thanks Patsy.


  4. Pasty, I’ll soon be 61 and I am not what I thought I would be at this time in my life. Nor an I what I thought I would be in the eyes of God. I am a pastor and am so frustrated with so many of my fellow pastors who are getting so liberal in their faith. I was just at our annual conference and had a pastor tell me that as long as we believed in God we could get to heaven. I said what about Jesus, and the reply was not everyone needs to believe in Jesus. My heart broke. It didn’t matter the scripture I quoted. I am so glad when you post your little notes because I know that Women of Faith is getting the right message out. Faith in Jesus Christ. Keep it coming Pasty. Much Love, Clara


  5. Patsy, I swear I’m not a suck-up, but every dang time I read you, I’m encouraged. Thanks for being obedient to penning your thoughts for those who take time to hear them.

    When I read this, I immediately thought of John 8:38–So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

    I’m pretty sure what you wrote is Biblical ;).


  6. well I will be sharing your words on my FB page for sure- lots of Patsy clairmont quotes can be found there!
    I am 50-I tell my son I am still young- but really, I think it’s funny I am just realizing the real freedom I have in Christ-I tell my husband-“I’m 50, and I’m finally getting it!” I especially love the last paragraph.
    thanks so much for your encouragement and for being real with us –
    love,
    Janet


  7. Dearest Patsy,

    I was just pondering the same thing earlier in the week. I will be 45 in 3 weeks and am nowhere close to the place or person I thought I would be at this point. That said, the Lord has shown me over the past few years exactly what you just reiterated in your post, WE ARE FREE . . . REJOICE IN THAT FREEDOMW! How liberating! What a beautiful, wonderful gift from our Lord!! Not just the freedom, you!!

    Many blessings, Deb


  8. We just finished the book “The Me I Want to Be – The Me God Wants to Be.” It was terrific reading and discussion, bringing back memories from 1993 when I had a spiritual renewal or as I use to refer to it as nervous breakdown. God showed me through Scripture the me He wanted me to be and I have worked real hard to achieving that goal I set for myself. Women of Faith has been a real help in confirming my beliefs. Keep up the good work, there are so many of us that need your Biblical knowledge and humor to help us along our journey. Thank God He has encouraged you ladies to spread the Good News. Love and Peace to All!!!


  9. We just finished the book “The Me I Want to Be – The Me God Wants to Be.” It was terrific reading and discussion, bringing back memories from 1993 when I had a spiritual renewal or as I use to refer to it as nervous breakdown. God showed me through Scripture the me He wanted me to be and I have worked real hard to achieving that goal I set for myself. Women of Faith has been a real help in confirming my beliefs. Keep up the good work, there are so many of us that need your Biblical knowledge and humor to help us along our journey. Thank God He has encouraged you ladies to spread the Good News. Love and Peace to All!!!


  10. Thank you!


  11. Patsy, I’ve had a week of thinking I’m 58 and when will I ever get it? When will I grow up? Thanks for your great writing. God led me to your blog today…it’s going to be ok. I’m free because of His grace. He gave you such a gift. Thanks for using it for His purpose!



Comments are closed.

