h1

Summer Concert

June 4, 2010

Oh, listen. Can you hear it? The tiny rhythms of the bee darting among the flowers and dipping into sweetness. His working buzz firmly in place alerts us to his presence and reminds us of his purpose. I love his gaudy frock, so unexpectedly tailored.

And what is that sound? Of course it’s the Robin. What would these sultry days be without those Sweet Soprano’s filling the heat with their heartfelt praise? My how verbal she becomes when we peek at her babies. We best stay clear lest she pack up her musical repertoire and move to Nashville.

I love the soft sounds of our flag moving in the stir of a breeze. And the way the day lilies curtsey when she moves through the landscape, as tough nodding their approval of her presence. The garden chimes get caught up in a whirl of excitement when an unexpected breath of an afternoon storm rushes in. Soon the bass rumbling of thunder will quieten the birds serenade and cause the bees to shelter inside buttercups.

Yes, I love the musical mosaic of summer…from the distant giggles of playing children, the hum of a lawn mower in a neighbors yard, the clinking of ice cubes against a frosty mug, and the sound of rain dancing across rooftops.

Lean in and listen…don’t miss the music.

What do you hear?

10 comments

  1. This summer, a robin and a house wren are completing for the prime nesting property of the underside of my deck. They are staking claim of this valuable piece of real estate with their song, each trying to outdo the other at the top of his lungs. What a joyful noise!

    My home office has a great view of a wetland just beyond, where red-winged black birds call “conk-a-reeeee” and black-capped chickadees sing “chick-a-dee-dee-dee” all day. I LOVE summer’s serenade!

    Thanks for sharing your bit of heaven’s melody with us today! I’ve been enjoying your blog!!


  2. I know it’s weird, but I love to hear lawn mowers running because I know it’s summer then! I also love to hear children laughing and playing outside!


  3. The sound that makes my heart sing?. . . . When my wee ones are napping I slip on my shoes and fill my watering can. I quietly open the front door to my house and smell the hot summer air. I walk out to my big porch and fill my hanging baskets with water until it starts to drip out from the bottom. When all four are dripping together it’s like four part harmony singing about the slowness of summer.


  4. I love the sound of rain sitting on the screened porch. (Just not as much rain as May brought us here in Franklin).


  5. You know how it is the first thing in the morning when you are starting to stir and you are wondering if you want to wake up or not and then you hear them, first one and then another. It starts off with the good morning call of the first peep of that little bird and then the next and pretty soon they are all wake, singing and praising God. How can you stay asleep when the world is waking up with praises on there lips to our living God.

    Now Pasty about that bumble bee, there humming isn’t so sweet to me right at this moment. As I was letting my little puppies out the other day I was barefoot and stepped on the largest bumble bee I have seen in a long time. Needless to say that bee will not “bee” humming again, and I didn’t hum either.

    Much love, Pastor Clara


  6. You paint a lovely picture of a sweet time. I am in the middle of the arbian desert ang long for this type of experience again. God is so good, thank you for sharing, I praise him as well in this world of sand and heat and dust storms, he is in his nature as well as in my heart.


  7. I love the sounds of summer.


  8. I love the sounds of “Peepers” on a warm summer night.. I love the sound of rain on the camper while reading a good book… I love the sounds of people talking.. so nice to visit with friends and family… Just so you know.. I dislike the sounds of June bugs hitting the windows.. and mostly.. I love the sounds of laughter!!!! Enjoy your summer patsy ❤


  9. Patsy, that’s so beautifully articulated and very poetic. Thank God He uses you to share with us. This was a great way to start out my beautiful Saturday morning. Praise HIS Holy Name!


  10. Patsy,
    I just love reading your writings! I can see, feel, and hear it all, and more! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!



Comments are closed.

