h1

Birds of a feather…

April 21, 2010

I feel so blessed to have those in my life and in my readings who string words like precious pearls and present them as if their hope was to garland me in beauty. Mary Oliver, a poet, is one of those for me. If you have not read her work I encourage you to search it out and wear it well.

Below is a taste of one of her offerings, sip slowly:

The Swan
Did you too see it, drifting, all night, on the black river?
Did you see it in the morning, rising into the silvery air –
An armful of white blossoms,
A perfect commotion of silk and linen as it leaned
into the bondage of its wings; a snowbank, a bank of lilies,
Biting the air with its black beak?
Did you hear it, fluting and whistling
A shrill dark music – like the rain pelting the trees…

The lines in a poem are meant to be pondered. If we allow gentle words in, they will help soften the hard edges of our heart…and still the commotion in our head, if but for a moment.

Listen to the words, lean in…allow them to paint pictures worthy of your time…take them with you into the rest of the day. As night falls draw them back and handle them again, they will sweeten your sleep and season your dreams.

Who writes beauty that resonates inside you? Share their words with others.

5 comments

  1. Lovely. I leaned, listened and saw in my mind’s eye the picturesque scene and just felt the breeze of air from its wings as it whisked past me. Mmmm, how refreshing and relaxing.


  2. Thank you for a serene beginning to my day. Life is meant to be experienced like this. Not just this physically still and quiet moment, but any of the moments in my day. I needed to be reminded of the sweetness found in a quiet, pondering, heart.


  3. I love to read Robert Frost or Maya Angelou. My favorite is “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” by Angelou.
    …”The caged bird sings
    with a fearful trill
    of things unknown
    but longed for still
    and his tune is heard
    on the distant hill
    for the caged bird
    sings of freedom.”


    • I too love the caged bird…and I love to hear Maya’s rich voice and full heart recite it.


  4. This was such a peaceful poem. I feel relaxed just reading it and find myself daydreaming of the perfect little cottage on a lake in the Pacific Northwest of my mind.

    Thank you for sharing…I’m going to look up more of her writings.

    ~melody~



Comments are closed.

