h1

Up! Up! and Away!

April 15, 2010

On my way to Washingtonville NY last week I asked my driver Dot if she’d mind “dropping by” West Pointe. My friend Ellie had insisted when she heard where I was going that I not miss a chance of a lifetime. She assured me I would not be sorry taking this short detour.

Ellie was exactly right. Dot graciously took me there and I was thrilled with the sights of history and the sounds of tomorrow’s officers. The place is a city on a hill and its light cannot be hid. We only stayed a few hours and had not begun to see all there was to see. It is not a destination you just enter wily-nilly but you must have a purpose to enter the grounds. We had decided to eat dinner at the beautiful Thayer Hotel on the grounds and we were so glad we did. The Friday night seafood buffet was memorable and left us all moaning with delight.

But the memory that stays with me from the experience were the para-shooters. They were training cadets who were dropped out of helicopters over the Hudson River and floated (think fast float since the winds were strong) in great arcing circles and landed in a designated area marked by a yellow flag. We were told they were getting ready for the Army Navy game where they would parachute down with the game ball.

The winds whipped at them with great gusto and we were impressed at how accurately they were able to maneuver themselves into position and then land on their feet running…well, except for one unfortunate fellow. At first I thought it was a speck on my eyeglasses out my peripheral vision, but then the speck’s legs began moving as he tried to redirect his parachute. Seems a burst of wind caught him off guard and sent him out in left field…way out. He ended up coming down in a parking lot full of vehicles. I was praying my heart out as I saw the possibilities…like him smeared across a windshield. Instead he dropped safely between two cars. Whew!

I’ve been out in left field….haven’t you? Left out of the job market, left out of the party, left off the guest list, left in the parking lot while everyone else seemed to be at the ball…or ball game. I had empathy for him that had been created inside me when I suffered my own unexpected gust of wind blowing me off course and away from others. I guess that’s the good part of disappointments they teach us to care about and be sensitive to those who are struggling to land safely.

This week let’s keep our eyes open for those out our peripheral vision…they may need our prayers.

11 comments

  1. Wow! What a great message! Today – you’ve inspired me to look for that speck – that’s just beyond my regular vision. To see if they have caught an expected gust of wind.

    I’m enjoying following your blog Pasty! Enjoy your travels and thanks for sharing them with us!


  2. Thanks Patsy, there are many who need our prayers when they are off course, as we need their prayers when we have veered off course, great insight for deeper thoughts how trusting more in our Lord can keep us going the direction. God Bless, keep writing to help all of us on our journey.


  3. Hi, Patsy. I LOVE the fact that you got to go to West Point for a visit! I used to work with an elderly man (90 yrs.old to be exact) and he was a “regular” there at WP. I would take him there and he would meet up with some friends who showed us areas of WP that only the “insiders” would see! I believe that there is a wonderful treasure trove of history there that we SHOULD experience. So happy you got to see WP and have the experience YOU did! I will keep my own eyes open for the opportunity to be a blessing to someone who is in need of a “safe land”. Thank you!


  4. Hi Patsy.
    Thanks for sharing and reminding us. Makes me think of Jesus looking for and going to the sheep who is astray. Praying for you today. God bless.


  5. God Bless you, Patsy. You make me realize that there is hope for each day. When I hear the passage about the “valley of darkness” I am hopeful because where there is a shadow, there must be light somewhere, even if I can’t see it at the time. Your posts give me a little bit of light, thank you.


  6. Great story Patsy. And I love the life lesson laced in there too. Yes, we must watch out and pray for others.


  7. Just recently our family was blown of course with the death of my father in law. My son found it more difficult to accept the way this stormy wind was blowing. Being only 20 soon and having some difficulities in his personal life and trying to become stable enough to keep a job amidst what seems hopeless at times this death brought us all closer and a chance to show him the hope we have in Christ. The last night of the viewing he did not want to leave his Grandfather and after a half an hour after everyone left he finally asked his dad to pray with him. After praying he was comfortable enough to leave. Asking for prayer was a big step for him and we will take all the prayers we can from anyone who would like to keep praying for Tim. Thanks in advance giving God all the glory.


  8. Thank you so much Patsy, I have been feeling that way lately and you made a great correlation that took me off guard.

    Have a great day!


  9. So true ! Thanks for sharing Patsy 🙂 I think that we really do need to look for those who are struggling and may need prayer. Sometimes we get so caught up in the hustle and bustle and busyness of our own lives that we don’t even see those around us in need. Thanks for a great reminder to keep our “eyes peeled” (as my dad used to say) and look for opportunities to show God’s love to others.
    P.S. Looking forward to seeing you at WOF in Indianapolis in August ! 🙂


  10. dear patsy,

    i have loved your wit, humor, and wisdom for years and now
    have found your blog! what a treasure.

    i appreciate that looking outside the lines is very important,
    sometimes revealing someone’s pain, other times, a lovely
    balloon!

    blessings!


  11. I think you are right. These years in the wilderness have taught me many lessons, but the biggest one has been eyes to see the hurting around us. Because most people are hurting. And we can see that if we finally get our eyes off ourselves and our problems.



Comments are closed.

