h1

Mysterious Love

April 5, 2010

Easter Sunday I visited a neighborhood church. The sun was full on the landscape. I could feel it’s warmth even as I passed under a canopy of flowering trees. Pink and white petals were underfoot as well and clustered the edges of beds of purple pansies. I made my way up the church steps, through a crowded entry, and into an already full sanctuary.

After I was seated I began looking around at my surroundings…

Beautiful stained glass windows lined the room, which I found out later were made by Tiffany’s. The wood interior, the profusion of flowers, and a palpable anticipation coming from the people nearby, caused me, a stranger, to lean in with an eager heart. I was not disappointed.

From delightful bell playing, to triumphant trumpets and horns, to a rich pipe organ the experience was uplifting. My favorite part though was the finely directed choir. Not a large choir (maybe 20) but obviously gifted. By the time they sang the Hallelujah Chorus my heart was operatic with joy.

A young boy (perhaps 11) carried a golden cross entwined with live Easter lilies down the aisle. From the back a minister cried out, “He is risen. Alleluia.”

I left the service pondering the mystery of it all. The tomb is empty and because of that my heart is full.

Alleluia.

7 comments

  1. Praise HIS holy name! Amen!


  2. A mystery indeed….”amazing love, how can it be, that You my King, would die for ME”


  3. Alleluia, Praise and Glory to our Lord!


  4. “I left the service pondering the mystery of it all. The tomb is empty and because of that my heart is full.” Isn’t it also amazing that if we will empty ourselves of ourselves, that He will fill us with Himself! My prayer is that I’ll be less of me and more of Him!


  5. Patsy, it sounds a bit like a Lutheran service. I do miss those traditions through the church calendar year. Sounds delightful, uplifting obviously, but what a great place to leave with a heart rejoicing even more then when you entered!


  6. Beautiful!! My Friend!


  7. “The tomb is empty and because of that my heart is full.”
    so profound…and so beautiful!



Comments are closed.

