h1

If I were a book… (or a people)

March 29, 2010

…I’d want to have pictures and gilded edges because folks are less likely to throw you away. (sigh)

…I’d want to have a satisfying closure to my story so folks could dream of their own resolutions.

…I’d want just enough dog-ears (ouch) and pen-scratches to know I was both momentarily inspirational and long-term worth rereading.

…I’d want a sturdy leather binding to promote legacy.

…I’d want to be nuzzled up to classics for my own enrichment.

…I’d want to be referred to people the book owner respected.

…I’d want to be tucked beside an overstuffed chair rather than forgotten in a musty trunk. (ah-ah-choo)

…I’d want to be crammed with wisdom and aerated with humor.

If I were a book (or a people) I’d want to be cherished and shared.

Keep Booking!

Patsy

16 comments

  1. As a fellow book loverI enjoyed your thoughts on books (and people)!


  2. Patsy,
    You ARE cherished and shared, crammed with wisdom and humor…and I’ve seen you in leather before:)


  3. I’d say that except for the closure of your story (which I pray is many chapters in the future), your life already illustrates that respected, wise, witty, shared and cherished book you’d like to be.

    Love books. Love you!


  4. Oh… I like this Patsy. I agree with @Patricia (Pollywog Creek)

    Thank you!


  5. Great post! Nothing better than spending some time in a really good book! My house is full of them.


  6. LOVE IT!!!
    And so glad you’re back to bless the blogosphere!

    Reading your “Kaleidoscope” this weekend before passing it along to a friend!

    Look forward to more from you, Patsy!!


  7. Well, Patsy, me thinks the Lord is creating just such a book in you. What a wonderful gift to us all. I really hope my life lends itself to just such a book also. I’m not sure about the leather though…then again, maybe if it were purple????


  8. “…I’d want to be referred to people the book owner respected.”

    Wow.

    Think about that.


  9. If I were your book I would be filled with pages that tell the stories, the many stories that you have heard over the years in your ministry. Now where to start?!

    I love your seasoning on life a sweet aroma.


  10. As a fellow book lover who would love to live in Barnes and NOble I love this post. I think you would be sticking close by if you were my book.


  11. i love this!


  12. “You are our letter, written in our hearts, known and read by all men; being manifested that you are a letter of Christ, cared for by us, written not with ink but with but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablests of human hearts” (2 Cor. 3:2-3).

    You have proven to be a living epistle of the power of God to change a life into the reflection of His Son, Jesus Christ. And that is the best “book” there is!! Blessings.


  13. Wow! I love this!


  14. Patsy, You are very insightfull!!!! I love it,and your humor.


  15. If i were a book, i’d love to have some coffee or soup spots….just to know someone wouldn’t even stop to eat but had to do it while with me…..

    I would love to have soft pages that easily slide when turned over…..

    G

    ps. great to have u back


  16. And I would want to get to know you!



Comments are closed.

