h1

She’s baacccccccck!

March 26, 2010

Yep, the delinquent blogger is galloping back with her spiky mane and her thundering hoofs….hi-ho Silver Hair!

I’ve been hiding out in the whirlwind of life. It’s so cotton-pickin’ daily. I mean, have you noticed when you get through wringing out Monday, Tuesday’s smack dab in your face. Then before you can slap it silly, Wednesday’s demanding ruffles on her pantaloons, and Thursday’s tugging on your grace…and so on and so forth. My days and my intentions too often dissolve into silly putty. It’s not that I don’t achieve things…(survival is an achievement isn’t it?)…just not always what I meant too.

So I’m going to give blogging another try…and I hope you will join me….wherever I’m at. Speaking of…

…this morning I’m tucked deep in a chair in a Tennessee cabin on a hilltop watching the sunrise. Friends share their hidden glory-spot and we (hubby and me) are grateful. The flaming-orange sun came rolling up over the purple-misted hills just moments ago heralding the good news that this is a brand-spanking new day…and therefore it’s not too late to try, try again!

I hear in yonder kitchen the clanking of tin cups being filled with robust coffee…and, wait, is that aroma that’s wafting under our door, mingled with bacon? Oh, heart be still.

At last night’s head count there were 10 of us, (ages 13 to nevermind), gathered around a table at midnight eating great mounds of onion rings. Groan. And now at dawn everyone is dispersing into the fresh percolating day…some to school, work, hunting, and heading home.

What’s your day filled with?? Take a moment to smell the possibilities…then cast yourself headlong into the hours bequeathed you by the Host who colors the sunrise and disperses the mist.

Patsy

p.s. I’m hoping to post 2 to 3 times a week. I’ll keep them brief to hopefully fit inside your whirlwind.

47 comments

  1. Love that you are blogging again. That way I can keep up with you between Mexican feasts…

    It won’t be as good as seeing your face, but at least I will get to hear your voice.

    Welcome back!


  2. Welcome back! I’ve missed you biggie bunches!!


  3. Glad you are back.


  4. I spent the day thinking about teaching my English students and rounding up my new workspace components. This week is spring break and I am going to write three posts (chapters in my book) before I go back to school. I only post once a week because of my school obligations. I’m going to the Columbus Women of Faith conference April 30-May 1, so I’ll need to have an extra post for that weekend. Once summer comes, I will post more frequently.


  5. Patsy: I haven’t seen you at Women of Faith for 3 or 4 years now, and miss your perky presentations. I have your books and CD’s, and love your voice, your humor, and your God given dedication to making us laugh and think at the same time. You are blessed in your ability to interact with people. I love your blog and am thrilled to see you on Facebook. Keep up the good work. Love, Joyce


  6. So glad that you’re blogging! I love your spunk, excitement and love of God! When I read your writing, I can hear your voice and it makes me smile! :o) Thanks for being you and letting God use you!


  7. I love it! lol. :)) I’ll add you to my blog roll of my personal blog at http://flowersfadetruthremains.blogspot.com/ 🙂


  8. So good to hear from you, Patsy! I love you!


  9. So happy to see you back!!!


  10. Welcome back to one of my favorite writers. We need you to help us love, laugh ‘n learn our way through life–at never-mind what age!!


  11. Patsy — just thankin’ you for the gift of you through this blog (that also happens to point us to The One who makes the possibilities realities) and the whimsy you share that goes deep. Bless you girl!!!!


  12. SO good to have you back!


  13. Hubby and I moved from the Twin Cities of MN back northerly a year and a half ago. He lost his 22 yr career three years ago February….corporate termination upon “reorganizing”. Ya ya. Is working a contract postiion here in Duluth, nearer to wherefrom we each sprung, 56 and almost 60 springs ago!! We love Duluth… and find winter driving safer in a hilly city where crews hustle out to keep roadways clear posthaste!! Then, there is Lake Superior. And there is Lake Superior. I see God’s fury in the thundering storm waves, I see my Abba’s delight in the sun shining like a bazillion diamonds upon gentle water days….and sitting near it, I hear in the gentle lapping upon the rocky shore, a lullaby. “It is well, with my soul……” We fled to this great lake 8 years ago, well it will be nine, this July, to rest, mourn, cry, sleep, after burying a healthy smart Godly son, a week before his 19th birthday, after he was killed in a traumatic event, a fall at work, framing townhomes in St. Louis Park. The lake was Brian’s favorite place, along with the entire North Shore. He’d proclaim, arms spread out wide, ” I was BORN for THIS!!” as we camped along Superior’s shores as our two sons grew up.
    Ah, I digress.
    Now, I spend time reaching out to grieving mothers who love Jesus. Spent 12 yrs till last winter, ministering to teen lady athletes through Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Now am leading a ladies morning Bible study, at our church here. Mostly young moms, and it’s SO MUCH FUN!!!
    God is so amazing! And today, I potted up so many tuberous begonias, I lost count, began a new job last week at a greenhouse in Two Harbors!! I have now transplanted about 5,000 pansies, no joking!! and they will delight gardeners with pansy smiles and cute faces!! God made his creation so varied.
    I turned 56 on Monday, and now that I’m over the regular speed limit, I figure I better speed through….
    last week, upon pondering the last year and giving thanks for the relationships in it..
    I realized, I do not wish for my life to be defined by being a bereaved mom, tho He has used me and still is, in that. I wish my life to reflect my Abba so well, so tenderly, that my life be defined by grace, and a joy that defies understanding, and by my Hope, which is unshakable.
    Beautiful to read of your Tennessee time. I have a best friend sister in Jesus who lived there, now is in Missourri…..
    OH!! Her hubby is Mark Price, owner with God, of Cornerstone Catering, the WOF caterer!
    She and I go way back, to when our son in glory and her firstborn, sharing the same birthdate and year……. were buddies, catchin frogs and such!!
    How’s that!! for small world, dear one!!
    OH and I learned to cross country SKI this winter!! and thought of you the whole while, your story make me laugh as I went, and I did fall over not paying attention cuz I was openly amazed by fast skate skiers…. and I did learn to go downhill……. but Patsy, in spirit I did it with you next to me, only YOU were speeding downhill!!!
    HA.
    Be blessed, friend
    In His hands, Deb Moore


  14. The fresh percolating day. I love it! Feasting on your imagery. 🙂 Have had nibbles of it on Twitter–reading your blog will be such a treat!


  15. So glad you are back we have all missed you you make are days a little brighter


  16. Welcome back. I just love how you make me laugh. Today I ran a race with a second grader who challenged me and we tied and God used it as an object lesson. How wonderful is that. Looking forward to reading your blog.

    blessings


  17. Loved you at WOF in Des Moines. I am going to be a team leader next year. Beautiful day today. Working on my sermon for Sunday. Can your mind just take in the love of Jesus. I know I will have such a hard time not crying this week as I preach. All I will be thinking over and over in my head is He died for me, for me. WOW.

    Do you like living in Tenn.? I’m from Michigan and have lived in Ohio, IL, and Iowa, we are now thinking in the next year or so to retire in the south and Tenn. is one of the places my husband is really thinking about.

    Take care of yourself and you and your family are in my prayers.
    Clara Dvorak


  18. So wish I were watching that TN sunrise! I sure enjoyed meeting you last week @ EV Free Fullerton’s “Vivid” event. Thanks for your encouraging thoughts and for signing my copy of “Kaliedescope!” Though I’ve yet to have a few moments to crack the binding, I look forward to relishing some alone time with the Proverbs… Oh, you and the Lord are going to be there, of course! Tea or coffee?


  19. I love your insight on the world. Keep smiling!


  20. I love reading and listening to you Patsy. I look forward to what’s next.

    Blessings.


  21. Welcome back to the wonderful world of blogging.


  22. Ahhhh, you are a breath of fresh air! You’re writing is so colorful and full of life. LOVE it! Welcome back. 🙂


  23. You are amazing Patsy! I am happy for you that you are enjoying family! You have all been through so much this past year.
    I have seen you the past 8 yrs at Women of Faith and you are a blessing to us all. Your energy is amazing!! I also “hear” you when I read your books or anything you write. I love your FaceBook posts and hopefully you will link your blog on there each time so I can find it! Love you bunches!!


  24. yeah! Not only are you back but you’re on WordPress too! I switched to it as well this year and I love it. Looking forward to being blogging buddies again. Now, if I could just be consistent… love you friend. Deb


  25. So love that your writing is like your speaking- completely creatively enjoyable. 🙂


  26. So thrilled to have you back in the bloggy world!! I have missed your verbal snapshots and I will look forward to reading more of your eloquent blog posts. Blessings. jean


  27. Sounds like absolute bliss!


  28. In Florida not for the pleasure of a warm vacation but to see my father in law for maybe the last time. We have1 & 1/2 days left and i’m beginning to feel the loss already. Life is like a dirt road full of bumps and lots of dust to shake off when you get to the end.


  29. Welcome baacccccccck!


  30. YOU GO GIRL. Love it! Love it! Love it! Can you add a button for that in your next upgrade?
    Love you BIG!


  31. Thank you Patsy!
    I love your writing! I have started a new blog-venture! I hope we both have fun doing it!

    Love and Blessings to you!


  32. Welcome back, Patsy! So glad you have taken up the blogging “pen” again! I did not want to repeat what others have said, but I have missed your word pictures and wisdom.


  33. You are such an inspiration to so many…I am looking forward to blogging with you! Welcome back! God needs your voice out here in bloggerland!! 🙂


  34. It’s Saturday morn … dawn has entered. The east-facing kitchen window is washed in sunshine, though it is 17degrees outdoors.

    We (hubby and I) woke at 4am … a special time which we enjoy each and every morning. On this particular morning, there are no commitments outside of the home and we look forward to this restful time of nourishment in a leisurely breakfast of strong coffee, biscuits in the oven and fresh eggs which were delivered to us last evening by a dear friend. This mornings’ nourishment includes our morning devotional – 2 Corinthians 4:8-9

    ‘We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed.’

    We are, admittedly, struck with despair, confusion and fear for the changes in our life … a life filled with difficult decisions, weary minds, confused hearts and the daily busy-ness of just plain gettin’ through the week. It is God’s simple Word which brings us joy, peace, respit and a smile on our face.

    I thank God for the marmalade oozing from the sides of this hot biscuit which sits beside my keyboard … and thank Him for the smile I see on my husband’s face, and the peace in my heart for His Truth, in His Word.

    Enjoy this day that He has made,
    Gigi ~


    • Hi Gigi,
      I just want you to know that I read your blog to Pasty and it made me stop and pray for you. I know about change and making difficult decisions. I am so thankful that you have a husband to share the burden with. God is good and He does have a plan for your life. For a year and a half I prayed Psalm 143:8-10. I wanted to be in the Lord’s will and be doing what he wanted me to do and I knew we would be moving within that time. He answered that prayer beyond what I would have ever imagined.

      Know in another year or two my husband will be retiring and he wants to make a big move at least for me. He wants to move down south or to Texas. So I have started praying my verses again. Whatever is going on in your life I know our God is Big enough to handle it. It is just hard sometimes to hand it over to Him and leave it there. I used to joke around and say but I needed to take it back because God didn’t worry about it enough and my husband would say He knows the ending that is why he doesn’t need you to take it back and worry about it.

      May God be with you and your husband as you make your big decisions. God blesses those who place their faith and truth in Him.

      Your sister in Christ, Clara Dvorak


  35. Well, Pats, guess if you can blog a couple of times a week, I have no excuse but to be inspired by your example! (Okay, I’ll probably come up with an excuse but I’m sure it will be a good one! :-)) Love you, friend. Keep writing… you’re just the best.


  36. I’m looking forward to reading your blog – I loved seeing you at Women of Faith, and I love your books! You just described my every week exactly – where do the days go? Thanks for blessing us with your words…


  37. Hi Patsy!!!!
    So glad that you are blogging….I love it and I love to read others blogs. And, my lady…you do have a way with the written word that surpasses many that I know, writers and pretend-writers alike…so I am excited that you will be putting your skill and gift to work via this avenue.
    As for today’s agenda…I get the glorious joy of CLEANING MY HOUSE! I cannot believe that the thought of picking up “stuff”, loading the dishwasher, doing laundry, sorting through mountains of mail, and vacuuming (if I’m lucky!), excites me. It’s just that I’ve been soooooo busy lately that I’ve totally neglected the duties of mainting my residence. Feels good to do the “right” thing. Have a fabulously blessed weekend girlfriend! And enjoy that beautiful sunrise 🙂


  38. Wow! What a wonderful surprise to find you in my facebook today. One of my very favorite women. I so enjoy your messages and books. Keep up the good work and may the Lord bless you.


  39. I’m just joining in so I’m excited to jump on board 🙂

    Cheers!


  40. Sounds wonderful Patsy wish I were there.


  41. Patsy!
    I’m so happy to be able to read your blog! Your gift of encouragement touches me each day, through your Facebook posts and now here! Thanks!


  42. It gave me a big, relaxing sigh just to envision your description of the morning Patsy!! God bless all you precious sisters!


  43. So glad to read your blog! It is the ray of sunshine in my otherwise gloomy day. Thank you!


  44. Sounds heavenly, the type of place(and location)my husband and I dream of retiring to.


  45. Hi Patsy, isnt this fun! I am in Oregon this week, flowers are blooming and the sun.. what a welcome sight after a long winter. My liliacs which are one of my favorite flowers are just starting to pop their beautiful white and purple buds. What a heavenly fragrance. Love hearing about you and yours life.


  46. Patsy, It’s so good to see your happy lil face again. I first “met” you (as most of us did) at Women of Faith, and you were my fav! I love your books and that you’ve shared your life to help others. Thank you and God Bless.
    Margie



Comments are closed.

